Artist Feature: Tammy Smith

by

TammySmithDecember’s feature artist is the very talented Tammy Smith.

Her brand new Studio M collection, Patina, will be released in January, so we thought you’d like to get to know her a little bit better! Tammy’s ability to give character and life to a simple piece of wire is truly remarkable. Her handcrafted collection is full of beautifully unique home and garden décor that we can’t wait for everyone to see.

There are a few sneak peeks of the collection throughout the interview… we hope you enjoy!

Do you work from life, photographs, or your imagination?
Mostly my imagination, but once in awhile, I’ll need to reference a photo just to get started.

Tell us about your family! Any pets?
I have a husband and son who are both musicians. My son is graduating this year from high school, so we’ll probably be empty nesters next year… although that seems really weird to think about right now! And we have a Springer Spaniel named Lucky and a cat named Gary. My pets are both black-and-white, so people always comment on the fact that we have matching pets (and since we got them both the same day, that wasn’t a complete coincidence.)

Patina2

Patina Drum Shade Chandelier

How do you spend your Sundays?
Sunday is my day off from working out, so I feel like I have more free time that day. Usually the day starts with something “bad” for breakfast, like cinnamon rolls, and we love watching CBS Sunday Morning. Then, I go to work in my studio–I tend to be always in the middle of an art project or assignment of some sort, and Sunday is no exception. Later in the day, we might visit one of our parents or take our time making something nice for dinner.

What are your three favorite foods?
Ice cream, ice cream, and then there’s ice cream…but seriously, if I had to add two more things it would be guacamole and cookies, not together of course!  (And that’s the reason I have to work out 6 days a week:)

Are you obsessed with any one fashion item? (shoes, purses…)
My obsession is with coats or jackets. I love vintage coats, and I even have a black, boiled wool midi/maxi coat from the 70s. I could have a different jacket for each day of the week and not mind it at all. Only problem would be fitting them in my closet!

Patina Birdhouse Baskets

Patina Birdhouse Baskets

What scent brings you back to your childhood?
What a great question that is…hmmm, I think it would be the smell of cookies baking because my mom was always making them. That’s probably who I inherited my sweet tooth from.

What are three words that best describe your Patina Collection?
Textural, whimsical, colorful.

What are three words that best describe you?
Introverted extrovert, LOLer, dancer wannabe.

Is there a creative mind that inspires you? (artist, writer, poet…)
One of my faves is Maxine Sutton, along with anyone who is in the St. Jude’s Gallery. They’re all amazing printmakers, seamstresses, artists, and makers.

Do you listen to music when you create? If so, what?
I listen to a mix of several Pandora stations with artists like Jakob Dylan, Broken Anchor, or Van Morrison. I also like listening to This American Life with Ira Glass.

Patina Garden Sculpture

Patina Garden Sculpture

Do you start with a sketch, paint, or a broad idea?
I start with a sketch and a broad idea, then usually can’t stop myself from doing a whole line plan of pieces or products. I LOVE creating coordinating ideas around a theme.

What’s your favorite thing about your studio?
I have two favorite things because I just remodeled my studio, and now I have a giant worktable and a seating nook. We took out a closet, made it a nook, and I bought these 2 fantastic velvet Hollywood Regency chairs and reupholstered them for the nook. So I’m no longer going to work in my studio, I’m just going to sit in one of those chairs all day.

Patina Hanging Baskets

Patina Hanging Baskets

Thanks for reading :) Let us know in the comments which piece is your favorite!  Also, check out Tammy’s DrinkBlots coaster deck here

To see more of what’s coming in January from Studio M, click here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Artist Feature: Tammy Smith”

  1. Fiona Love Says:

    Can’t choose, they all look fantastic!!

  2. Betty W. Gates B & B Gifts and Interiors Says:

    Liked all of them and her story also

Leave a Reply

